Hey guys I'm new to the variables in C++ I use TurboC++ program. If you could, please help me get rid of this one error that keeps popping up... It says "Declaration terminated incorrectly" and when I click on the error it tells me its the "{" at the beginning
Anyone know whats wrong?
Thanks

#include <iostream.h>

{
    cout << "Hey." << endl;
    cout << "Look what I made."

#include <iostream.h>
void main()
//math
    int x,y; //declare two integer variables, x and y
    x=20; //set x to 20
    y=10; //set y to 10
    x=x+0; //add 1 to x
    y=y*2; //divide y by 2
    cout << "x equals: " << x << " and y equals: " << y << endl;
}

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

To be honest I don't know anything about C++, but I know this much

x=x+0; //add 1 to x

This is not adding 1, you add 1in this way x++; or x = x + 1; or x += 1;

y=y*2; //divide y by 2

and this is not dividing neither.

Concernig your original error take another look at the first "{"

It should be after the
int main()
{
}
in fact this portion

#include <iostream.h>
void main()

should be before anything else

First of all, use code tags. It makes code much easier to read (more info in my signature.)

Don't use iostream.h, as it's outdated. void main should be avoided at all costs (see my signature also).

You should use a proper compiler instead of Turbo that doesn't compile such bad coding practices as I have mentioned above. Several easy-to-use compiler are Dev-C++ and Code::Blocks. If you need a more advanced environment, feel free to download the express version of Visual Studio 2005.

This is incorrect:

{
    cout << "Hey." << endl;
    cout << "Look what I made."

Remove the brace that I highlighted in red, and paste the rest of this code down below the main() statement.

The variable assignments are incorrect as previously stated.

x=x+0; //add 1 to x
    y=y*2; //divide y by 2

I suggest reading up on this:
http://www.cprogramming.com/tutorial/lesson1.html