I'm very new to php and am looking for help getting data out of my MYSQL database. I've made all my proper connections and all is running fine so far. What i want to do is have people get a result from the database based on their input...i.e., put in firstname, lastname and dob in three separate boxes and use that data as a way to query the database to see if they are in it based on those three items. I can do it with just lastname, but want all three to be true before a response is given. More or less like a lookup based on three variables. I just don't know enough to figure this one out by myself. Does anyone have a lookup script already working that i can play with, or pointers on how to make this work. I'm using php, mysql on IIS in windows. Hope this is enough info, appreciate anyones help. I figured out the "WHERE lname = "smith" to get a response but would like "WHERE lname = (what was inputed) AND fname = (what was inputed) AND dob = (what was inputed)"

Thanks

Recommended Answers

All 22 Replies

Hi.

So, why don't you make such kind of query statement ?

Have 3 textboxes in your form. Call it firstname, lastname and date_of_birth. The page submits to 'somepage.php'. In somepage.php, you can access the form variables like,

$firstname = $_POST['firstname']; 
$lastname = $_POST['lastname'];

Then in your query, you can use these posted form variables. $query="select * from users where firstname='$firstname' AND lastname='$lastname'"; :)

Thank you nav33n, that looks very helpful, i'll give it a try. I wasn't sure if you could use the "AND" in the select statement, i think i'd tried it but may have had a few other things wrong as well, but this gives me something to work with. I appreciate your help, i'll let you know how it goes.

You are welcome! And yep, you can use both AND and && .