:?: Greetings,
I am brand new to php and mysql so get out the asprin. smile I am making a php file to pull information from dat files to update my database.

When I run http://www.sandpointrealty.com/read2.php I get this error
Warning: mysql_fetch_array(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL result resource in /home/sandpoin/public_html/read2.php on line 187

Line 187 reads $row=mysql_fetch_array($get);

Here are the surrounding lines

//echo "SELECT AgentID FROM Agent WHERE agt_id = '$AgentID' and OfficeID=$OfficeID";
$get = mysql_query("SELECT AgentID FROM Agent WHERE agt_id = '$AgentID' and OfficeID=$OfficeID", $sql);

$row=mysql_fetch_array($get);
$strValue = $strValue . $row;
}else if($arrname[$i] == "zoning" && substr(strtolower($dbvalues[$i]), 0, 5) == "resid"){
$strValue = $strValue . "'Residential'";

Can anyone see what my problem is?
Thank you for your time on this, I have been going nuts.
Rain

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Member Avatar for TKSS

What database are you connecting too and on what host? Do you have that information included in your php file? I.E.

<?php
mysql_connect("localhost", "mysql_user", "mysql_password") or
die("Could not connect: " . mysql_error());
mysql_select_db("mydb");

$result = mysql_query("SELECT id, name FROM mytable");

while ($row = mysql_fetch_array($result, MYSQL_NUM)) {
printf("ID: %s Name: %s", $row[0], $row[1]); 
}

mysql_free_result($result);
?>

For me, 9 times out of 10 I forget to connect to the database or signify what table I'm fetching from. Perhaps your prob might be the same?

TKS

Greetings,
I believe it is connecting to the database. I had lots of errors and got them all corrected except this one. Here is the top of the file. (Note..I took out the userid and password for this post but it is in my file)
Thank you,
Rain

<?
$server = "localhost";
$userid="";
$passwd="";
$sql = @mysql_connect($server, $userid, $passwd) or die("Couldn't connect!");
@mysql_select_db(sandpoin_mlscatalog);