hi im new to php/mysql i have developed a code in asp and converted it to php with asp2php programme. the original solution asp/sqlserver iis works fine..the new solution will be a iis php mysql. mysql server works fine iis works fine however the php wont let me connect to the mysql database i have created..when i connect with asp it does! there must be something missing in the code. i tried all kinds of config
so this is whats happening when i try to connect with php the page returns on itself as if the username and password submitted in the form is wrong or not found. yet when i connect to the same database with asp it goes correctly. when i alter the connection strings (php) i get the error
#1251 - Client does not support authentication protocol requested by server; consider upgrading MySQL client

therefore i go back to my original script which is as follows

//check that user exists and login is correct

// $conn is of type "adodb.connection"

$conn=@mysql_connect("localhost","root","astra123");
@mysql_select_db("mildmaydemo",$conn);
//root", "astra123"
$RSStudent=$RSStudent_query=@mysql_query(("SELECT StudentID FROM MMStudents where StudentEmailAddress = '"
    .$_POST["EmailAddress"]."' and StudentPassword = '"
    .$_POST["Password"]."'"),$conn);  
$RSStudent=@mysql_fetch_array($RSStudent_query);
  if (($RSStudent==0))
  {

//invalid login

$TheMessage="Student not found. Re enter the correct email and password.";
  }
    else
  {

//valid entry

as you can see the user is sent back to the logging page when the username and password is not verified against the database...
im sure there is something missing in the code that is preventing it from connecting to the database to retrieve the details..as i say im completely new to php and cant see what is wrong here..
any help would be great!
thanks in advance chris

Recommended Answers

All 22 Replies

I edited the post to make the code easier to read.

After mysql_connect(), put this:

if (!$conn) {