I searched thru all the PHP threads I could find relating to PHP & Forms and didn't quite find anything like what I asking. I am new to PHP and was wondering if someone could let me know why I am getting error HTTP 404 (Not Found)

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 3.2//EN">
<html>

<body>

<form method="post" action="<?php echo $PHP_SELF?>">

First name:<input name="name" ><br>

Last name:<input name="email" ><br>

<input type="submit" name="submit" value="submit">
</form>

</body>

</html>

Recommended Answers

All 19 Replies

try action="<?php echo $_SERVER; ?>"

I still get the same error. the code now looks like this:

<html>

<body>

<form method="post" action="<?php echo $_SERVER; ?>">

First name:<input name="name" ><br>

email:<input name="email" ><br>

</form>

</body>

</html>

umm.. I hope you have started apache service and you are executing your script like, http://localhost/yourfilename.php ? When are you getting that error ? After you submit the page ? What is your url ?
PS. Next time you post your code, please wrap it within [ code=php] [ /code] tags.

no, I found this code on the internet and thought I would try to get it to work before I moved to the next step. I will go get a book. can you recommend one? I have a url, but it is in the very beginning stages

No. What I am asking you is, how do you execute your script ? Are you double clicking the file or are you typing the path in the address bar ?
Well, If you want to learn the basics of php, w3schools is the best site to start off.

I double click on the file from the website and fill in the boxes and submit.