I have a master page that contains elements for Ajax and certain standard controls that I do not wish to have to copy to every page on my site (hence the master!). However, these controls need a sub for an OnClick method. Now this method is edited differently on every page in the site. For example:

MasterPage
Sub link1_click
End Sub

asp:linkButton id="link1" onclick="link1_click"..

ContentPage
Sub link1_click
End Sub

I only do inline coding, so you know. I have currently tried this, which fails:
MasterPage
Public overridable sub..

Content
Public Overloads Overrides Sub..

How do I make it work?

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

if i understand correctly, you want to override the default behaviour for the controls in your masterpage. You can do that as follows :

in your content pages, in the page load event ,attach eventhandler to your controls(you can remove the attached eventhandler first if you have already attached any in your master page)

protected void Page_Load(object sender,EventArgs e)
{
// Example, let's say you have a link button in your master page
LinkButton mine =(LinkButton)Master.FindControl("LinkButton1");
// removes the attached handler
mine.Click -= LinkButton1_Click;
// Adds the new handler
mine.Click += new EventHandler(mine_Click);
}
void mine_Click(object sender, EventArgs e)
{
Response.Write("oluyor");
}

Hope this works for you.

Thanks so far, but I have come to an error:

Compilation Error 
Description: An error occurred during the compilation of a resource required to service this request. Please review the following specific error details and modify your source code appropriately. 

Compiler Error Message: BC32022: 'Public Event Click(sender As Object, e As System.EventArgs)' is an event, and cannot be called directly. Use a 'RaiseEvent' statement to raise an event.

Source Error:

Line 8:          Dim lbtnActMessages As LinkButton = CType(Master.FindControl("lbtnActMessages"), LinkButton)