I'm hoping one of you javascript guru's can help me because i'm new at javascript!!!
I need to return the score from my function and have it emailed with the test results. How do i do it?
here is the code: (i know it's mickey mouse but it took me a while to get it to work)

<html><head>
<title>Introduction to Disease Management Test</title>

<script language="javascript">

function tester() 
{

var a1 = 0; 
var a2 = 0; 
var a3 = 0; 
var a4 = 0;

for (i=0;i<document.test1Form.q1.length;i++){
if (document.test1Form.q1[i].checked){
q1value=document.test1Form.q1[i].value;

}
}
for (i=0;i<document.test1Form.q2.length;i++){
if (document.test1Form.q2[i].checked){
q2value=document.test1Form.q2[i].value;

}
}
for (i=0;i<document.test1Form.q3.length;i++){
if (document.test1Form.q3[i].checked){
q3value=document.test1Form.q3[i].value;

}
}
for (i=0;i<document.test1Form.q4.length;i++){
if (document.test1Form.q4[i].checked){
q4value=document.test1Form.q4[i].value;

}
}

if(q1value=="d")    {a1 = 1;} 
if(q2value=="d")    {a2 = 1;} 
if(q3value=="b")    {a3 = 1;} 
if(q4value=="e")    {a4 = 1;} 

total = a1 + a2 + a3 + a4; 

grade = 25*total; 

if (total < 100) { alert("Your score is "+ grade +"%."); }

return grade;

} 
</script> 

</head>

<body> 

<FORM name="test1Form" action="xxxxxxxxxxxxxx" method="post" target="_top" onSubmit="tester()">
<INPUT type="hidden" value="xxxx@xxx.xxx" name="recipient">
<INPUT type="hidden" value="Intro to DM Test" name="subject">
<INPUT type="hidden" value="http:/xxxxxxxxxxx/" name="redirect">
<INPUT type="hidden" name="env_report" VALUE="REMOTE_HOST,HTTP_USER_AGENT">
<INPUT type="hidden" name="print_blank_fields" VALUE="1">
<INPUT type="hidden" name="required" value="name,date,department,license,q1,q2,q3,q4">

<!--<form method=post enctype="text/plain" action="mailto:xxxxx@xxxx.xxx">-->

<h3>CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSE TEST</h3><br>

<p>
Name:<input type="text" name="name" size=50><br>
Date:<input type="text" name="date"><br>