Hi all,

I'm a novice at using jsp and web design in general and have been trying to pass parameters between pages for a good few hours now but to no avail...

Furthermore my classification of the problem may be inaccurate, please understand that I've only been using jsp pages for about a month now.

In short, I'm trying to obtain input from a user via a textbox, then pass that value to another jsp page and my code goes something like this:

I try and retrieve the value entered by the user as follows:

out.println("<tr>");
out.println("<td>&nbsp;&nbsp&nbsp;Please enter your surname</td>");
out.println("<td><input type='textarea' name='sSurname' ></td>");
out.println("</tr>");

I try and call the new link with the parameters as follows:

out.println("<a href = 'newuser.account.created.jsp?sName='+sName.value+''> Create Account man</a>");

When using request.getParameter(sName) on the next page no value is returned unless I physically hardcode the value of sName in the code snippet above.

Any advice would be appreciated,
Thanks alot.

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

I too am new to jsps, but i do know that u will have to submit the form. use a submit button.

your code should look something like this

<form name="testform" id="testform" method="post" action="/yourjsppage.jsp">
<input type ="text" name="username" id="username" />
</form>
<input type="submit" name="submitme" value="submit" />

the text that u entered in username will then get posted to the next jsp page and the url will then look something like 'yourjsppage.jsp?username=blahblah'

On the next page u will be able to use request.getParameter() to get the value of the text field.

Hope this helps

Thanks for taking the time and effort to respond, perhaps I should try and incorporate your advice into the code.:) Web design is pretty new to me coming from a C++/java background. The whole notion of client side/server side scripting is slowly beginning to make sense though...

At present: