Hey guys, I am just learning php and mysql for the first time and I would really appreciate your help. I have created a search engine for my website which searches through a database and then returns the correct results. All of that is working great, EXCEPT for the fact that I want the results to be printed on a new page. I know how to redirect to a new page by uing header(Location: url), BUT when I redirect to the new page, it will not print out the results on the new page. Instead it is printing an error (Warning: mysql_fetch_array(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL), which tells me that it is not reading any of the variables from the previous page. Can anyone give me any advice for how to perform a search on one page, and then redirec the output to a new page?? Thanks a lot guys.

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

have the search form post to the new page you are talking about and process/display the results on that page.

Hey guys, still having problems. I appreciate the responses though. I would post my code but that would actually make it more confusing for you. But here is where the problem is coming from....Here I am saying if there is a match then print out the results.

while($result = mysql_fetch_array( $data )) 
{ 
?>
<a href="http://www.someurl.com/<? $result['field'] ?>"> <? $result['field'] ?> </a> 
<br>
<?
} 
?>

I am not sure if this helps you guys at all, but this is what is printing the results right now on the same page that I have the search form. I just want these results printed on the page I am redirecting to. I apologize but you must realize I just started learning php and mysql two days ago so I basically need exact instructions. Thanks for your help!

can you post the form? if so, then i can type some code up for you, so you can see how to do it.

like what I have said before,put the search key( the one that is inputted by the user in the textbox in a variable then perform the search query in the page you are redirecting to.