I am trying to run a script when a button is pressed on my Login.aspx page in Visual Studio 2008. I have set the Sub routine which is located within the script to redirect me to a certain page when the script is run for testing purposes. When I press the button the script is not executed and I am redirected to my default.aspx page instead of the one specified. Can someone help me I am new to asp.net and maybe doing something wrongs.

Thanks

<body>

<!-- Start of Script-->

<script language="VB" runat="server">

Sub Button1_Click(sender As Object, e As EventArgs)
        Response.Redirect("AdminPage.aspx")
        Session("LoggedIn") = Nothing
        FormsAuthentication.SignOut()
        Label2.Visible = False
        End Sub

</script>

<!-- End of Script-->

<!-- start header -->
<div id="header">
	<div id="menu">
		<ul>
			<li class="current_page_item"><a href="default.aspx">Homepage</a>&nbsp; </li>
			<li><a href="blogs.htm">Blogs</a></li>
			<li><a href="photos.htm">Photos</a></li>
			<li><a href="about.htm">About</a></li>  
		</ul>
	</div>
	<!-- ASP BUTTON-->
<h5 align="right" style="width: 908px" ><a href="Default.aspx"><u><asp:Button ID="Label2" 
onclick="Button1_Click" runat="server" Text="LogOut"></asp:Button></u></a></h5>
</div>

IF YOU NEED TO SEE MORE CODE LET ME KNOW.

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

Hi there, I am not sure why you have this line in the script:

FormsAuthentication.SignOut()

This will force a user to log out and clear the form authentication ticket. Therefore, it will redirect the user to the login page (Default.aspx normally). Try removing that line and let me know how it goes. Hope that fixes it for you!