Hi Friends,
I'm a web developer bit a new to asp.net. I want to access my remote Ms Sql database through Visual Web Developer or Sql management studio but despite of spending so much time and googling I'm not able to do that.
My database( www.peclive.com) is on a server having Plesk 8.1.0 as control panel and has ASP.NET enterprise manager that provides GUI for data manipulation for ms sql databases.

In the Visual Web Developer or Sql management studio
I enter Server name as:peclive.com (tried even with peclive.com/SQLEXPRESS..not sure if this should be the server name format)
SQL authentication with username and password and database name.

Ive even configured sql server express on my PC to allow remote connections and even sql surface area configuration to allow local as well as remote connections

But despite of all these I come across the same error:
TITLE: Connect to Server
------------------------------

Cannot connect to peclive.com.

------------------------------
ADDITIONAL INFORMATION:

An error has occurred while establishing a connection to the server. When connecting to SQL Server 2005, this failure may be caused by the fact that under the default settings SQL Server does not allow remote connections. (provider: Named Pipes Provider, error: 40 - Could not open a connection to SQL Server) (Microsoft SQL Server, Error: 53)

For help, click: http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink?ProdName=Microsoft+SQL+Server&EvtSrc=MSSQLServer&EvtID=53&LinkId=20476

I think that I'm making a mistake in the name of the server instance

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

Hi - There are a host of issues that can cause this, and there is no solution that can be provided here given the information provided.

1. Some hosting providers, such as GoDaddy, so not allow remote inbound our outbound database connections. Check with your hosting provider to see if there are any such policy restrictions.

2. If you are hosting the SQL database:
1. Is SQL Browser Running?