I'm a VB.NET developer in training (still in college), and I'm working on my first ASP.NET web application. I'm extremely new to the concepts of ASP.NET and only know what I've read from a few chapters of a book.

That being said, I have a web form with 3 textboxes and 2 dropdownlists. When the page first loads, there is data that is pulled from a database and inserted into the textboxes and dropdownlists. I assign the data as follows:

textbox1.text = string1
dropdownlist1.selectedvalue = string2

so on and so forth.

The data in the textboxes and dropdownlists can be modified by the user. However, when I change the data in the textbox or the dropdownlist while the page is running and attempt to use the changed data in any other manner, it stays the same value as when the page first loaded.

I have tried two different scenarios. I have tried writing the modified data in the textboxes and dropdownlists to the database, and I have tried creating cookies with the modified data in the textboxes and dropdownlists. But the values stay the same as when the page first loaded.

if anyone can link me to a tip or offer some advice, I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks, Dave

below is my cookie code. I create when the user clicks a Save button. (i'm pretty sure the code is fine. however, the methodology may be all wrong)

Protected Sub btnSave_Click(ByVal sender As Object, ByVal e As System.Web.UI.ImageClickEventArgs) Handles btnSave.Click
        Dim str As String = ""
        str = txtAso.Text & "|" & txtPer.Text & "|" & txtCat.Text & "|" & _
        ddlMonth.SelectedItem.Text & "|" & ddlYear.SelectedItem.Text & "|"
        Dim DataCookie As New HttpCookie("TMDBdata", str)
        Response.Cookies.Add(DataCookie)
        Response.Redirect("data.aspx")
    End Sub

Private Sub LoadChanges()
        If Request.Cookies("TMDBdata") IsNot Nothing Then
            Dim str As String = Request.Cookies("TMDBdata").Value
            Dim count As Integer = 0