I am new to building web applications and I am developing my skills in programming. I have a few questions about JavaScript that I cant find the answers too easily.

1. People seem to think that there is a cold war going on between Adobe's Flash, Microsoft's Silverlight, and JavaScript. With all the new JavaScript Libraries coming out like DOJO, JQuery, Mootools and others; JavaScript is becoming pretty powerful and animations are becoming easier. So my first question is.. How come there are not any JavaScript animation Studios? Like Flash and Silverlight.

2. Is it JavaScript that is displayed differently in every browser? or is it the CSS? because when I play with JQuery, certain animations will look different depending on which browser I'm using. I have Google Chrome, IE6, and FireFox.

Thats it for now, thanks ahead of time :)

-Evan

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

There aren't any Javascript animation studios because there are so many quirks between the different browsers they'd be doing N times more work, where N is the number of current browsers. Believe it or not people still use IE5.5 and if you're going to do business you have to support those people whether you like it or not.
To answer your second question, it's both Javascript and CSS and HTML and pretty much everything else that is rendered in the browser is rendered differently unless they use the same rendering engine (Chrome uses Webkit)

1. People seem to think that there is a cold war going on between Adobe's Flash, Microsoft's Silverlight, and JavaScript. With all the new JavaScript Libraries coming out like DOJO, JQuery, Mootools and others; JavaScript is becoming pretty powerful and animations are becoming easier. So my first question is.. How come there are not any JavaScript animation Studios? Like Flash and Silverlight.