Hello guys,

My name is Azry Syarry and I am an Analyst Programmer for an IT company here in Malaysia. I just got this job and I am going to be given the responsibility of handling some projects. However, I do have to make some decisions first about this upcoming project that the company going to do. The first this is that we are having some thoughts and debate about which platform we should choose, ASP.NET or SharePoint.

Could someone please tell me the "real" difference between these two. I have read numerous blogs, articles, and websites about the discussion but somehow there are a lot more that I need to know before I present the idea to the company.

Clearly I am still a newbie in this field. lol

Thanks in advance. Your help and guidance is highly appreciated.

Azry Syarry

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

What are your needs for a website?

ASP.NET and Sharepoint are completely different ballgames.

If you are just needing a website, or programmability built in to a website I would suggest asp.net.

If you need a CMS system, many users, ability to change content from users, many companies or sites integrating together, then go with sharepoint. Some parts of sharepoint are free, yet others will cost quite the pretty penny. Its a bit harder to work on as well than your classic site, but just depends on what your needs are.

What does this first project entail?

the first project is about a cms. the need of the website is to replace the current system with a total online application that caters to all users, be it internal and external. It will also act as central information and communication medium.

i know that it is possible to use asp.net on top of the sharepoint platform. but we're thinking, why should we buy the license for sharepoint if we end up just using minimal parts of of the platform?