Hello everyone, I'm having trouble populating a dropdown box with mysql data. I have a table with columns makeid, yearstart, yearend and makename. Sample data would be 1, 1936, 1941, American Bantam. I want the dropdown to list the years a certain brand of car was offered. For instance, a user selects American Bantam and the years 1936, 1937... 1940, 1941 are listed. I've tried a bunch of different things but I can't seem to get the dropdown to populate with anything more than just the start or end dates. I'm relatively new to PHP so I'm sure there is a simple solution.

Any help would be appreciated!

Thanks,
Arthur

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

can you post your code for us to know what you want it would be?

im a newbie too .. perhaps i could help too:)

enim

For instance, a user selects American Bantam and the years 1936, 1937... 1940, 1941 are listed.

If user selects name, then based on that id you can get two dates from your database table, then make a dropdown list by incrementing the first date, put if condition greater than end date...
try it...
or post appropriate code...then we can see it for validate....

Well, I've actually got two pieces of code. The first one I'll post was given to me by someone else but I've managed to get it to work for my application. Here it is:

<?php

require "includes/dbconnect.php";

$query = "";
if(isset($_GET['make']))
{
	if(trim($query2) == "")
	{
		$query2 .= " where makename = '" . mysql_real_escape_string(stripslashes($_GET['make'])) . "'";
	}
	else
	{
		$query2 .= " and makename = '" . mysql_real_escape_string(stripslashes($_GET['make'])) . "'";
	}
}

$query2 = "select * from makes" . $query2 . " order by makename";
$searchresult = mysql_query($query2) or die(mysql_error());;

$query3 = "SELECT yearstart, yearend FROM makes";
$yearresult = mysql_query($query3) or die(mysql_error());;

$yeararray = array();
while($row = mysql_fetch_assoc($yearresult))
{
	$yeararray[$row["yearstart"]][] = $row["yearend"];
}
?>