Okay Basically i want to put the contents of array called numbers
into a MSSQL database

i can connect to it no problem and select and display data
so its not a connectivity issue

here is what i have so far:

for (int i = 0; i < numbers.length; i++)
{
   String sql "INSERT INTO smsmsg(to, msg,from, timesent)VALUES ('number[i]', 'text', 'from', GETDATE())";
   access.insert(sqli);

}

Please note Numbers is the array

any help would be appreciated i am new to this and going nuts

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

> can connect to it no problem and select and display data
so its not a connectivity issue...

How did you manage that one?

>Why you wrote this? - Incorrect code. I can't find more words about this code.

for (int i = 0; i < numbers.length; i++) {
   String sql "INSERT INTO smsmsg(to, msg,from, timesent)VALUES ('number[i]', 'text', 'from', GETDATE())";
   access.insert(sqli);
}
String sql="";
 for(int i=0;i<numbers.length;i++) {
     sql="INSERT INTO smsmsg (to,msg,from,timesent) VALUES (" 
      + numbers[i] + ",'text','from','12-31-2002')";
     access.insert(sql);
 }
Java Syntax (Toggle Plain Text)

String sql="";
      sql="INSERT INTO smsmsg (to,msg,from,timesent) VALUES ("
      + numbers[i] + ",'text','from','12-31-2002')";
      access.insert(sql);
    }

I appreciate that this is an old thread but why on earth would you post a reply still with errors and with a pointless fix!.

First of all you are using a reserved word in your SQL statement "from" cannot be used as a parameter as its reserved by SQL.

Secondly whats the point in specifying a date when the Original Poster wanted to get the current date - All that needed to be dones was "& System.DateTime.Now() &"

Please see the amended code below:

String sql="";
   DateTime dt = DateTime.Now;

sql="INSERT INTO smsmsg (to,msg,numFrom,timesent) VALUES ("
      & numbers[i] & ",'text','from', " & dt & ")";
      access.insert(sql);
    }