Hi everyone,

I've been a programmer for about 3 years and not so long ago, I decided to switch my interest to web development. For that reason, I've been learning PHP & MySQL for some times. However, I feel a need of direction about what is relevant to the current web development trend at the moment in order to be able to enter the competition on the job market.

Therefore, I want to ask for inputs from fellow professionals who have worked with PHP & MySQL in their workplace. What should I learn or focus more in regard to PHP & MySQL.

So far I've been learning to:
- Manage HTML page structure with object oriented principle using PHP
- Create database connection
- Create SQL query
- Create output page from the database query

Looking forward to your input. Thanks in advance everyone. :)

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

continue to practice what you are learning right now then after you are familiar with it try to study different opensource softwares and CMS like wordpress,joomla,etc. They will make your application building faster and efficient.Also try to study different frameworks like Codeigniter if you want some OOP approach.

And one more thing,try to study also Javascript.It is one essential also in web development.

Hope this helps :)

I would also recommend working with a content management system. I use Drupal: large base, lots of modules. You can build skills quickly.

matt

on thing that i would suggest to improve your skills, is look at a online place like facebook or web site editing or something that you have not made. And try to duplicate it. you don't have to publish it or anything just make it for fun.

i have done that and it works out soo far. It really helps me that i have done that by making me think throughly before i jump into things.

i always question how was that made, but don't always try to duplicate it but understand how it is done. in case i have to do it in the future. (which has happened a few times)