Hello,

I am a beginner to ASP.NET. I need some directions for this task.

Information about task:

Phase 1 : Assume Server whose health to monitor is GEMINI.
Create two unattended (non UI) Windows Services (or Windows exe) written in C#.
Every specific “duration” the windows services will be invoked.Use app.config file to store this duration value.
Should check the server (GEMINI) if it is up or down.
Check the following various applications under following broad classifications in the server.
Server
IIS
SQL Server
Windows Service ( control panel --> under services u see services running)
Windows Exe
Web Service

If the application is down and the server is down it has to log data into the sql server database.

Thanks in advance!

Ramito

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

Welcome to daniweb! Please direct windows form application and service application questions to the C# forum. The ASP.NET forum is reserved for web application related questions.

What is your definition of a server being "UP"? A ping response, a successful test to a website, a connection to some service hosted on it...? If my webserver responds to a ping but IIS is crashed I consider the server down.

To see if a service is running you need to add a reference to System.ServiceProcess and use the following code:

using System.ServiceProcess;

namespace daniweb
{
  public static class ServiceStuff
  {
    public static bool IsServiceRunning(string ServiceName)
    {
      try
      {
        using (ServiceController ctrl = new ServiceController(ServiceName))
        {
          return (ctrl.Status == ServiceControllerStatus.Running);
        }
      }
      catch
      {
        return false;
      }
    }
  }
}

I re-read your post and maybe you weren't clear.

I am a beginner to ASP.NET. I need some directions for this task.

Create two unattended (non UI) Windows Services (or Windows exe) written in C#.