I need to find a way to parse an html file with php.
the idea here is to read the file eg:

http://www.somesite.com/page.html

Then look for a string eg:

"This text is present "

Then perform an action based on the whether or not that item is present.

The if else logic I am ok with but being a php newbie I dont know how to get the parsing done and evaluating the presence of the string.

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Try this:

$yourfile = "page.html"; //Set your file here
$yourstring = "string"; //This is the string

$data = "";
$handle = fopen($yourfile, 'r');
while (!feof($handle)) {
$data .= fgets($handle, 256);
}
fclose($handle); 

if (strpos($string, $data)) {
echo "found";
} else {
echo "not found";
}
Member Avatar for diafol

I take it that this is an external site.

If so, file_get_contents() may work, but may not if your host has disallowed allow_url_fopen. You can check this with the phpinfo() function. Failing this, you can use cURL functions. Search Google and the php manual for usage of CURL functions.

Either way, you should be able to read the whole file into a string via file_get_contents or CURL. Then it's a matter of searching the string for a match as mentioned previously by grr.

If you need a curl function and can't find a suitable example, get back to me and I'll fire one off to you.

ok so I tried both ideas kinda got what I was looking for but did not quite get the file_get_contents to work with the script below.
:(

$yourfile = "page.html"; //Set your file here
      $yourstring = "string"; //This is the string
      $data = "";
      $handle = fopen($yourfile, 'r');
      while (!feof($handle)) {
      $data .= fgets($handle, 256);
      }
      fclose($handle);
      if (strpos($string, $data)) {
      echo "found";
      } else {
      echo "not found";
      }