im fairly new to the .Net world and i'm tryin to make a simple page that dynamicly fills a table/form from a database based on user log info. i've been doin some reading and the datalist/repeater seem like more than i need...or maybe they are exactly what i need but i'm not using them correctly. i have the login working already (thanks to some nice code samples from this site) that idenifies the user and stores first and last name in session variable to be used with later SQL strings. if anyone could suggest something or point me in the right direction, that'd be great. thanks!

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

What does the rendered table need to do?

If the answer is "it needs to contain "stuff" that the user will click/change, and then more server code will run", then you need to "Render dynamic controls", and should use a server side control to do that. Repeater. DataList. DataGrid.

If the answer is "sit there and look pretty", then you simply output a good old fashioned HTML Table, by using the LiteralControl.

The idea is: drag a PlaceHolder where you want the table to be.

Build a query, run the query, return a SqlDataReader.

Start your table:

PlaceHolder1.Controls.Add(new LiteralControl("<table>"));

Read through your datareader, outputting tags and content as you go:

while(myDataReader.Read())
{
  PlaceHolder1.Controls.Add(new LiteralControl("<tr><td>" + myDataReader["myField"].ToString() + "</td></tr>"));
}

And so on.

tgreer, thank you so much. that was excatly what i was looking for. just had to make very minor change for VB.Net :cheesy:

You're welcome. Ain't forums grand?

Hi

I need to render a table with dynamic rows based on data obtained through data reader. Each row has a image link button, a link button
and a label to which data comes from the database. In the earlier message you said we can use either a datalist, repeator or datagrid.
Can you please let me know how to render the table dynamically.

Thanks
Sandy