Just so you know, I'm a PHP beginner, so I won't understand complicated stuff or anything of the like. xP
I've started to make a part of my website (may I link to it, or should I just post the code) and I'm pretty happy with it. A user can paste or write a story into a text area, and then submit it. It shows the word count to them, and also adds it to a database, where, on a different page, people are able to view it, complete with their name and how many words the writing is.
However, I'm having a problem. I want to get a login script set up, so users are able to set stories to public/private, and also view all stories by them. They will also be able to have 'cash' for the stories that they post, based on the word count. Some features that I might try to implement would be editing/deleting stories, but I don't know if I will be able to implement that until I get a start on the actual code.
I have tried quite a few codes, some which are linked here.
http://hvassing.com/2007/simple-php-login-script-using-session-and-mysql/
http://php.about.com/od/finishedphp1/ss/php_login_code_7.htm
http://www.daniweb.com/forums/post951182.html#post951182
However, even with a bit of editing, I haven't been able to get them to work. This isn't good. xP
If it helps, here is the sql table that I have.

-- phpMyAdmin SQL Dump
-- version 2.11.9.5
-- http://www.phpmyadmin.net
--
-- Host: localhost
-- Generation Time: Nov 11, 2009 at 12:55 PM
-- Server version: 5.0.81
-- PHP Version: 5.2.6

SET SQL_MODE="NO_AUTO_VALUE_ON_ZERO";

--
-- Database: `pixelpup_type`
--

-- --------------------------------------------------------

--
-- Table structure for table `type_users`
--

CREATE TABLE IF NOT EXISTS `type_users` (
  `uid` int(11) NOT NULL auto_increment,
  `username` varchar(20) default NULL,
  `password` varchar(100) default NULL,
  `email` varchar(60) default NULL,
  `usergroup` varchar(11) NOT NULL default '3',
  `cash` varchar(5) NOT NULL default '200',
  PRIMARY KEY  (`uid`)