I am really new to php and am attempting to create a news reader on my site.

I have gotten it running just fine in a page of its own, BUT, I need it to be inside a php include. How do I link different scripts and stylesheets in the "body" as opposed to the head?

I feel like this is really simple, but I am just not sure of the syntax.

How do I take this code from the head and make it work in the body?

<head> 
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8" /> 
<link href="ncahd-main.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" /> 

<script src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.4.2/jquery.min.js" type="text/javascript"></script> 
<script src="../js/jquery.zrssfeed.min.js" type="text/javascript"></script> 

<title>TEST</title> 
</head> 
<body> 

<h1>RSS</h1> 

<script type="text/javascript"> 
$(document).ready(function () {
	$('#test').rssfeed('..news.xml', {
		limit: 3
	});
});
</script> 

<div id="test"></div> 

</body> 
</html>

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

There is no standard way to include anything inside a PHP file. However, if the site is hosted by the Apache webserver and mod_include is loaded then in your PHP script you can use:

<!--#include virtual="/folder/file.ext"-->
Member Avatar for diafol

Sorry, don't understand. HEAD scripts and css files are placed in the head because they are supposed to be in the head - not the body.

However, you can certainly include anything in an include file and include it anywhere in a html file.

What you can't do is run or include a php file from javascript, unless you're implementing Ajax.

For a general example to include a php file:

<?php
   include('includes/javascriptStuff.php');
?>

You could have raw javascript in this file and you can get it to run when the page reaches the client (browser) - that is after all the php has done its work. What you can't do is the opposite (run php code from js).