Please bear with me as I'm new to PHP.

Yesterday, I was working on an HTML form and everything was working fine (PHP would process the information and send an email as expected), but when I started this morning nothing happens.

A couple weeks ago I installed WAMP using mostly default settings. The only thing I modified was the information about email (server info, etc.), and that was done during the installation. After the installation, I used a basic, test form and was pleased to find the PHP working as expected. I then started working on my own form and it also worked as expected. The next day it stopped...I didn't change ANYthing, but it stopped working. No errors...just nothing. The following day it worked; again, no changes...it just started working again.

I've now been working on the form for a few days...everything's been working fine until this morning. I tried the form and nothing happened. As before there were no errors.

As I mentioned above, I'm new to PHP so I have absolutely no idea what to look for in determining the problem. Can someone give me any ideas on where to look?

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Assuming that this is a localhost sandbox, I suggust that you set the PHP ini to display all errors. Normally, they are logged in a production server. The on screen error display is a great diagnostic tool.

I suspect that the error has to do with conditional logic which has an error in a particular conditional path, thus sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't.

Thanks for the quick response.

When I first installed everything, I just basically used default settings and thought that by putting it 'online' that would be all I needed to do. But from what I'm now reading, I'll need to make some modifications to one or more files. That being said...

I looked at the php.ini file and it appears to be set to display all errors. The error options I see are:

error_reporting = E_ALL
display_errors = On
display_startup_errors = On
log_errors = On