Hi all. I am completely new to PHP and MySQL and this forum, so I hope someone can help. I have just installed xampp (completely out of the box as it were) and am having problems with a simple script. The script is below

<?php

ini_set('display_errors', 1);
        $connx = mysql_connect("localhost", "root");

if($connx)
        {
	    echo ("connected to database");	
        }
        else
       {
            die("DB connection failed: " . mysql_error());
        } 
?>

I have also created a DB called 'test' with a table called 'members' containing
(int)id=1,
(varchar)username="jpc",
(varchar)password="1234"

My question is how do I

(1) specify the database name so that the database test is chosen?
(2) specify the table members?
(3) cycle through records (I know SQL and a loop will be needed)

I am trying to create a login script that checks the DB and table and finds a match.

I tried to use connect statement out of various tutorial such as
$connx = mysql_connect("localhost", "jpc", "1234"); I can see the logic behind this statement but this give me the following error/warning when parsed

Warning: mysql_connect() [function.mysql-connect]: Access denied for user 'jpc'@'localhost' (using password: YES) in C:\xampp\htdocs\checklogin.php on line 13
DB connection failed: Access denied for user 'jpc'@'localhost' (using password: YES)

ANY and I mean ANY enlightenment you guys can give me would be great.

P.S. Do I need to change anything in xampp (I am using xampp 1.7.2 if this helps and I haven't messed around with anything it is just as installed)

Many thanks for your time and effort in advance
JPC

Recommended Answers

All 14 Replies

Hi,
Here are simple procedure to make it happen
1. Connect to server

$host = "localhost";
$username = "root";
$password = "mypass";
$mydb = "testdb";
$connx = mysql_connect($host, $username, $password) or die("Cannot connect to server <br />".mysql_error());

2. select dabase (Like commandline USE)