Member Avatar for Electrohead

Hi,

I am a bit of a newb with PHP and so far I have managed to get the hang of ECHO and INCLUDE, as well as that PHPINFO thing.

I am trying to make a very simple user login thing simply to learn how it works.

At the moment, i have the following: http://keefe.hyspex.com

That is my testing server for trying out my new sites before i put them on my main site.

The login box on the left is using the following code:

<?php
include "login.php";
?>

I am wondering what I need to do with login.php in order to create the login system? and im pretty sure i need more than 2 files but what are the others?

Cheers

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

If you'll head over to http://www.troywolf.com/articles, you can check out my PHP Session class. It includes a method to do login for password-protecting pages and an example login.php.

In order to customize the example for your own use, you'll need to study the system to understand how it works. Once you have a grasp and have general web dev skills, you'll be able to easily fit this into your system.

Note: writing a login system is not what I'd consider a "beginner's" subject. Some of the techniques commonly employed in login systems can be advanced. In my article about class_session, I explain some things you should understand before you begin.

Enjoy the journey.

Member Avatar for Electrohead

Well I know what you mean about it not being a beginners subject, but its hard to explain.

I know mostly everything you need to know, but just not the coding. I know to use POST rather than GET, i know about DB connecting and everything else, im just no good at remembering syntax.

I know mostly everything you need to know, but just not the coding. I know to use POST rather than GET, i know about DB connecting and everything else, im just no good at remembering syntax.