Hi all,

Here's my first post. I have a problem which I've worked on for a while now. I'm new to php, html, scripts, but I'm a very quick learner and have worked in IT for years, so hopefully someone can point me towards what I need to do/learn to sort this problem.

I've a really simple insert in my PHP:

mysql_query('INSERT INTO markers (date, time, name, address, lat, lng, type, type_image_url, debt, activity, text, notes, source)' .
    " VALUES ('$date','$time','$name', '$address', '$lat', '$long', '$type', 'http://www.phoenker.com/images/male2.png', '$debt', '$activity', '$text', '$notes','$source')");

that works fine. now I want to use a function to set the gps coordinates, which works fine. here is a piece of it:

// Try W3C Geolocation method (Preferred)
  if(navigator.geolocation) {
    browserSupportFlag = true;
    navigator.geolocation.getCurrentPosition(function(position) {
      initialLocation = new google.maps.LatLng(position.coords.latitude,position.coords.longitude);
      contentString = "Location found using W3C standard" + position.coords.latitude;
      var teddylat = position.coords.latitude;
      map.setCenter(initialLocation);
      infowindow.setContent(contentString);
      infowindow.setPosition(initialLocation);
      infowindow.open(map);
    }, function() {
      handleNoGeolocation(browserSupportFlag);
    });

I know it works because if I put the position.coords.latitude into an alert, it displays fine.

So, my question/problem is, how do I take the value of 'position.coords.latitude' and use it in the insert whilst using just one php page. As a noob, I'm not sure how to make the variable global. See I know I can call a second php and $_GET; but I want to know how to do it within the same php page. I'd hope there was a way I can set the position.coords.latitude and position.coords.longitude into 'something' that I can refer to in the insert.

Do I need to learn ajax, parsing, err...?!?

Thanks