how about learning PHP
what can be the suggested books?

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

I started learning PHP 6 years ago and found myself perfect at PHP after just two years.

I used no books, but just gave myself tasks :)
"Would be awesome with a single line of code writing 10 lines of text huh?"
- Much time of googling and bugging around later:

for($i = 0; $i < 10; i++) echo "The baby is ", $i, " years old!<br />";

That is my preferred way of learning - gives a lot of practical experience :)

The first step to learning PHP is "googling it out"! Though I learned PHP without any books/tutors but I recomment you to use one because there many things which are skipped out in tutorials and can be very useful. I have heard that oreilly PHP book is a good one.

how about learning PHP
what can be the suggested books?

Prentice Hall has a book (ISBN: 0-13-187508-6) PHP and MySQL by Example
By Ellie Quigley with Marko Gargenta. This books assumes nothing from beginning to end. You start out with VERY basic work, and progress all the way through OOP programming techniques. There is a bonus of being enjoyable too....

Good luck in your future programming career.

How you go about it depends on how you learn best. Some people need to have a course with an instructor, others can do tutorials and others like me prefer to jump in an thrash about and go looking for the info as they need it. W3Schools provides good tutorials and a good reference as you go.

I also recommend W3Schools. As well as the book
Beginning PHP6, Apache, MySQL Web Development, if your willing to invest. Also there are a few good PHP Video tutorials on Youtube etc. But beware some of them will lead you to write buggy & vulnerable code.

definately http://www.w3schools.com
challenge yourself.
I have been learning php for only a few months and i'm constantly asking questions guru's can't answer.
mix and match scripts
best things to learn is:
PHP
MYSQL
AJAX

and most important CSS