I am new to cakephp.I installed CakePHP.I wnat a simple program so as to know how to use cakephp.I tried everysite but couldnot understand how the MVC works while writing a program.I also want to know how database is created in CAKEPHP>

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

Hi Dear ,

please follow this link " You Got the meaning of MVC http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Model%E2%80%93view%E2%80%93controller

if you talk about cake php the follow the link http://book.cakephp.org/1.3/view/876/The-Manual

you you need for sample code

follow these steps,

under app folder ---

**apps/model--

**create    note.php**

<?php
class Note extends AppModel
{
  var $name = 'Note';
}
?>

**apps/controller**

**create    notes_controller.php**

<?php
class NotesController extends AppController
{
var $name = 'Notes';
var $scaffold;
}
?>

Here is the quickest, and yet nothing is pretty dirty.. just to get your fingers wet on blank page, and to taste the model->controller->view concepts.

Step One: The MODEL Copy codes below and save it app/Model/Test.php

<?php
##  save this in app/Model/Test.php
  class Test extends AppModel {

}

Step Two: The CONTROLLER Copy codes below and save it app/controller/TestsController.php Please take note on the plural Tests...

<?php
  ## save this file app/controller/TestsController.php
  ## notice the naming convention above?? Tests is plural
   class TestsController extends AppController {
        ## you define helpers here or
        ## write functions 
    public function index() {

}

}

Step Three: The VIEW ** open app/View/ directory, and within this directory create a new directory called ** Tests . Once again, I urge you to take a look at the Tests directory name, it is plural again.

Copy codes below and save it as app/View/Tests/index.ctp

<!-- File: /app/View/Tests/index.ctp -->

<h1>Test Page</h1>
<p>Hello! This is my first page created in CakePHP</p>