Hi, i'm very new to sql so to say i'm a bit confused is a bit of an understatement! I'm tring to set up a search facility so that results from multiple databases will come from just one form. A better way of explaining would be to show an example of a site that does just what i'm after - buzzle.com. When a search is performed the results are split into different sections. On my site this would be for example "articles", "ebooks" and "links".

My question is how can I go about setting up a form and the search so that it would query the different databases and display just like the site i've provided above, with the different result "sections" on the same results page?

I hope you can help,
Thanks in advance,
Justin.

Recommended Answers

All 14 Replies

Hmmm.. this is not a small question.

There are various methods of collating results from more than one database depending on the databases in question, are they all the same for example (MS SQLserver or Oracle ir MySQL) and are they on the same server or spread all over, in one domain or several.

I suspect buzzle.com has one database in which each entry has a type atribute (chapter, article or link)

example:

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
| Table: Content |
========================================================
|ID |Type |Keywords |URL |
|1 |Chapter |buzz buzzle |http://buzzle.com |
|2 |Article |buzz buzzle |http://buzzle.com/articles/buzzle.asp |
|3 |Link |buzz buzzle |http://buzzle.com/links/index.asp?id=1234 |

The SQL query to retreive the data:

SELECT * FROM content WHERE keywords LIKE '%buzzle%' ORDER BY type

The database I have at the moment is MySQL, and the other two that I want to add (I haven't yet but want to try and set up the search to make sure I can get things working before) will also be MySQL, all installed on the same server.