Struggling to get the following code to work. The code works if I just put an individual table in SELECT FROM, but I can't get anything when I try and do INSERT INTO table and then substitute it in. I am a complete noob at this and I know in advance...I suck :>. Thanks in advance for any help.

<form method="post">
<input type="checkbox" name="table[]" value="A" checked="checked"/>A<br/>
<input type="checkbox" name="table[]" value="B"/>B<br/>
<input type="submit" name="Submit" value="Submit">
</form>
<?php
$con = mysql_connect("","","");
if (!$con)
    {
    die('Could not connect: ' . mysql_error());
    }
mysql_select_db("", $con);
//STEP 5
//initialize an array for the categories
$categories=array();
// check whether any categories have been selected"
$categories = implode(",",$_POST['table']);
print_r ($categories);
if(isset($_POST['table']))
{
    foreach($_POST['table'] as $value) 
    {
        $insert="INSERT INTO table (table) VALUES $categories";
        mysql_query($insert);  
    }
    echo $insert;
}

$query = "SELECT () FROM table"
?>

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

First, do not think of yourself so negatively, mate. No-one is perfect and we all have our weaknesses as far as programming (and everything else) goes.

Your question is a bit unclear. What is the code that works and what is the code that does not work? Your queries above are incorrect as they are. What is the point of the foreach loop when you do not use $value anywhere?

INSERT INTO table (table) VALUES $categories

What is the purpose of this query? Do you have a column named 'table'? What is the table name?

$query = "SELECT () FROM table"

Something is missing in the above insert statement. And a semicolon is missing too.

Thank you for your response..