Ok, I am very new at php coding but I thought I would give it a shot. I am building a site for a friend of mine for his video game team. The problem I am having is they want an application form so I made the form but I can not get the php script to enter the data from the form. I used a couple tutorials and I cannot find the problem at all so I thought I would try here. I am using dreamweaver for this and this is the php coding I have.

<?php

/*subject and email*/

$emailSubject = 'mBz Application!' ;
    $webMaster = 'raulozzi1@gmail.com';

/*gathering data variables*/

$gtField = $_post['gt'];
    $micField = $_post['mic'];
    $membershipField = $_post['membership'];
    $playField = $_post['play'];
    $ageField = $_post['age'];
    $kdField = $_post['kd'];
    $gamesField = $_post['games'];

$body = <<<EOD
<br><hr><br>
Gamgertag: $gt <br>
Microphone: $micField <br>
Membership: $membership <br>
Play: $play <br>
KD: $kd <br>
Games: $games <br>

EOD;

$headers = "From: $gt\r\n";
    $headers .= "content-type: text/html\r\n";
    $success = mail($webMaster, $emailSubject, $body, $headers);

I also have the ending (where it redirects to another page upon submission) but that is working correctly and the entire page is closed with ?> Can you see a problem? all of the names are correct as well as none of the id's in the html page are capital. All that I get in the email when the page is submited is
Gamertag:
Microphone:
Membership:
Play:
Games:

thats it, nothing is entered. Any help?

Also the form is located at idroidrandp.com/application. I am still working on it, that is why it is not on its own domain yet so please be gentle this is only my first website. I am also hosting with godaddy and have tried IE and Firefox if that helps at all.

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Assuming your form has the names right from the HTML submitting page...

try capitalizing POST so $_POST['gt']

Im pretty sure globals are case sensitive.