I am new to PHP and I'd like the following form to require all fields. I am unsure whether or not this is possible since I am so new to this language. Here is the code. Any help would be useful!

<?php
$name = $_POST['name'];
$email = $_POST['email'];
$message = $_POST['message'];
$body = "$name has requested a tutor, here is a transcript of their message: $message";
$headers = "From: $email";
mail("name@email.com, $email", "New Request for Tutor", $body, $headers);
header("Location: confirmation.html");
?>

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

Hey, yes!

I like to do it this way though, it's personal preference but:

<?php

if(!isset($_POST['name']))
    {
        echo 'You have not submitted your name';
        return 0;
    }else{
        $name = $_POST['name'];
    }

if(!isset($_POST['email']))
    {
        echo 'You have not submitted your email';
        return 0;
    }else{
        $email = $_POST['email'];
    }

if(!isset($_POST['message']))
    {
        echo 'You have not submitted your message';
        return 0;
     }else{
        $message = $_POST['message'];
     }

if($name && $email && $message)
     {
         $body = "$name has requested a tutor, here is a transcript of their message: $message";
         $headers = "From: $email";
         header("Location: confirmation.html");

}  

?>

Hope this helps :)

Welcome to the forum. There are quite a few examples showing how to validate form fields within the forum already.

Here's a comprehensive reply I posted previously, which may be of some use. You say you're new, so reply back if it's too complicated for the time being, and we can try to break it down further.

http://www.daniweb.com/web-development/php/threads/426470/form-captcha/2#post1838019

So I've tried implementing the code you've indicated phorce. When I test it, it brings up a blank page on my website. What could that be caused by?