hi
i'm new to php but i tried to make my own edu website but i'm facing lot of problem to fetch the result using php
external site is about one of the Engineering university where 10k students result will be displayed by this website bcoz of this its server will be busy.so i tried to fetch the result from it.
coming to reqirement
when the students enter their usn no(eg:1db11cs001) when user hit submit button it must fetch result from external website(eg:http://results.vtu.ac.in/vitavi.php) and it must display result on my website
so plz help me by giving complete code
for more details and code
plz follow the link
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/13899643/to-fetch-the-form-results-from-an-external-website-on-the-same-page
coming to problem topic
when the student enter thier usn no/roll no(eg:1db13cs005) its just showing the student name but i need the complete result copy to be displayed on my website

Recommended Answers

All 19 Replies

Member Avatar for diafol

First of all, make sure you're not falling foul of the university/college by doing this. If it's OK, then I'm assuming that you need to use cURL to scrape the page unless they have an API which could allow you to once again use cURL or file_get_contents or even use js to get json data.

<form name="new" action="vitavi.php" method="POST">
 <p>Enter the University Seat No: <input type="TEXT" name="rid" size="20" maxlength="50"><br><br><br><br>
 <input type="SUBMIT" name="submit" value="SUBMIT" align="center"><br></p>
<form>

So it seems that if you were to use cURL for instance, you'd want to pass the POST "new", "rid" and "submit"

You may wonder about the need to pass "submit", but it may be part of validating whether the form had been submitted, e.g.

if(isset($_POST['submit']))

So you'd set the cURL to look at http://results.vtu.ac.in/vitavi.php

i'm gettin 404 error to the below code can u solve this problem

<?php

echo '<form name="new" action="vitavi.php" method="POST">