hello people daniweb....just want to ask honest oppinions from you guys, because this has been bugging me for years. I've been a PHP developer for 5 year using windows. So far so good. i am able to accomplish the task at hand. but there's always back of my head saying, that i suck because i had zero knowledge on Unix or Linux. Is that ok? or do i really need to learn the unix/linux system to be able to call myself good programmer?

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

i suck because i had zero knowledge on Unix or Linux

No, that's silly. Will learning other operating systems help round you out as a developer? Sure. Does your "goodness" as a programmer depend on knowing *NIX platforms? Absolutely not.

Let me put it this way. I'm primarily a Windows developer, but I do know several Unix variants. In my work, that knowledge has benefitted me in only four areas:

• Converting Linux-specific code to Windows (rare).
  • IT support/consulting where a Unix system is in place.
  • Navigating a Linux web server.
  • Recognizing file formatting differences between Windows and Unix (eg. newline representation).

In other words, the benefit has been largely minimal and I could easily have managed without any intimate knowledge of *NIX.

thanks for the reply sir. that surely clears my mind. thanks for the enlightenment

I normally develop PHP apps in windows environment using Uniserver as WAMP server. Before the app release, I would run my application to linux environment to make sure everything works.

Some basic differences between developing PHP application in Windows vs. Linux.

1. in Linux, we can use nginx as the front server and use apache2 as the backend server, which is by far faster than letting apache2 do the job by itself.

2. files and directories permission. We have more control in Linux.