I have been wrestling with this subject for six months and can find no complete answer anywhere on the web or in any book seen. I have become very familiar with the debate and so it is not necessary to debate the following here. I had rather do all of this in PHP, but I know of no way to avoid javascript because detection must take place on the client side, and no way to avoid AJAX because the feed is continuous and the pages fed depend on the viewport's width. Since the content of the pages will change, css at media will not work.

The object is first to create an html or, preferably, PHP page that will detect the ever-changing width of the viewport as the viewer crunches it up or extends it, and change the content of the page at two breakpoints; thus, there will be three php pages with content. I am not sure if the landing page should be .php or .html; in any case, the landing page will ultimately be the index page, and its sole function is to call or extinguish one of the three PHP includes, each of which will itself have includes and calls for the css. Both the content and the css of these includes may differ, operating on the principle of VARY HEADER in order to keep the integrity of the SEO.

In Pseudocode,the foregoing requirements become the following.

1. Detect viewport width LIVE in javascript; thus, if a viewer diminishes or increases the width of the browser, the detection will be continuous.
  2. To make the detection constant, it seems that the javascript must not be cached.
  3. The output of the javascript, which is width of the viewport in pixels, must be passed to AJAX because the page is dynamic.
  4. I cannot find any coherent reference to conditional statements in AJAX, and I had rather avoid JQuery, but the idea is:-
    if viewport < 700 px, serve x.php;
    if viewport > 700 px and < 900 px, serve y.php;
    if viewport > 900 px, serve z.php;