I put together a few pages of a fledgling site in Dreamweaver MX, so have set out the overall design including the menu bar. But I would like to make the menu bar into a drop down menu. I thought this would be easy but after searching for hours on the net and finding various codes, it proved much more difficult and confusing than I could ever imagine. So if anybody could suggest anything in any format: HTML, CSS, Javascript, or even Flash (which I have some experience of) I would be extremely grateful?

Regards

Catherine

PS I would also like any info on how to customize a scroll bar?

Recommended Answers

All 31 Replies

Is there such a thing as an easy drop down menu?

I have written a dropdown menu which I have attached to this post...

Simply modify array in the .js file to add/remove menu items.
The css file controls the look, and you can change the images for the menus from there.

The only note to keep in mind is that the css entry .topMenu { float: } is required for the menu to work. The javascript uses this entry to put the top menu buttons in the same order for both left and right float options.

If you have any questions, let me know.

As for modifying scrollbar colors, this is not possible under the xhtml DOCTYPE and only works in IE without a DOCTYPE.

I used this to add to one of my pages -- very simple.

I added document.theForm.theMenu.selectedIndex = 0; after the window.open command to reset the selection.

huh?

huh?

Huh, what. can you be less vague? ;)

Huh, what. can you be less vague? ;)

Well...I suppose I could have just put a question mark. :rolleyes:

I missed the link, so I had no clue what you were refering to.

Now that I actually clicked on it, I understand.

I'm not sure if this is the type of dropdown menu she was refering to, the one I posted isn't a form menu.