I need help with writing a hit counter in javascript. I am new to weboage design so I really dont know how to go about doing this.

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

Read this.

...if you want to write a hitcounter that records hits from any and all users; you cannot use Javascript - it can't write data to anywhere except cookies, which are unique to each user's browser.

so, you'll have to use some serverside application/script/method to record data permanantly at your server.

PHP: http://www.developingwebs.net/phpclass/hitcounter.php

Perl/SHTML:http://www.akamarketing.com/simple-hit-counter-with-perl.html

C++: http://www.daniweb.com/code/snippet596.html

ASB (with VBScript): http://www.webwizguide.com/asp/tutorials/hit_counter_tutorial.asp

etc..

The key is, these are programs that run at the server, Javascript in a browser is a client program. Javscript when used as an ASP scripting language is serverside, but the details of making a hitcounter using that would be more of an ASP question than a Javscript question.

You can use AJAX browser Javascript to talk to server programs, but the server program has to be there to record permanent non user-bound data, and infact, any kind of permanent data that you yourself can read..

Thanks MattEvans, I was afraid you couldnt do this through javascript, I will give the info you gave me a shot.

OK I looked at what you posted and just got confused. I understand how those work, the main thing I still can not grasp is how to actually call the script from the html code. Can I write either a c++ or vbscript that can be called from the html code source?

Well. there are a few methods for getting script output 'into' HTML. But, you have to understand; HTML is not a programming language, it's a document markup language.