Hey how is everybody doing today?
I am a noob in php (i actually just wrote my first php script yesterday) but I am running into a problem. I have a .php file and when I go to it on firefox it tries to either open with a program or save (it is acting like it is a downloadable file or something). IE opens the page fine though, it is a little weird because the whole time I have had problems with IE but not FF. I dont know whether this should be in browser or php so ill just post in both! :)
thank you for your help!!

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

Member Avatar for iamthwee

What exactly is your php file doing?

http://arbortreeland.com/index2.php

when I go to it in firefox it tries to download the file (you know like if you click on a direct link to an .mp3 file or something it prompts you to open or save).
If I choose to open it in firefox it just opens a blank page and prompts to dl again.
BUT if I use IE it works fine. this does this on all the computers I tried it on so it is not system specific.

I tested it with firefox on my linux box and it prompts for the open or save option.

How peculiar. Are you using firefox 2.0 out of interest?

It's not liking something in your code. Hmm. I wonder.

i could paste the code here, but I dont know if you guys would want to debug it for me. Just in case though. NOTE: I dont actually have any php in there, just javascript. I also removed the body content. It works fine if i save it as .html, but it wont preload the images unless it has a .php extension.

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">

<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<head>
<script type="text/javascript">
// configure here: