Hello All. I apologize in advance if there is already a thread out there describing this issue but I was unable to find it or unable to describe it efficiently within a quick phrase. I'm stumped on the following issue and would appreciate any help.

At the Resort where I work as a Network Administrator I have two networks that are entirely separate from one another.
One is a guest wireless network Class A
and one is an internal Class C which serves our Domain group.
When a guest attaches to our wireless (Class A) they receive a 10.71.0.x IP address, validate via our redirect splash page and can then surf. Pretty standard for public Wi-fi in a hotel setting.
Well, a few of my co-workers that also have access to the wireless, have one model of Laptop (Dell Latitude D810) that "occasionally" connects to the wireless network but grab a Class C IP address but it's a Phantom. Usually 192.168.1.x. Now what's really wierd is that the laptop sees the right Default Gateway and DNS and can also be set to statically connect to the wireless but won't get the correct IP. DHCP is handled by each Access Point so dishing out a 192.168.1.anything is not possible. I've set up each AP personally so I KNOW without a doubt that the issue isn't with the AP's.
I've tried all the usual suspects, removed drivers, checked LMHOSTS, HOSTS, TCP/IP, profile setups and the like but still the same result. It's almost like the laptop is serving as it's own DHCP but darned if I know how. Everyone here is thoroughly stumped. Any help or points in the right direction would be appreciated. Sorry for the length of this but it's a tough one to summarize.

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Are you absolutely positive that you don't have a rogue AP somewhere in the building? Do they pull the 192.168.1.x addy in the same area of the hotel everytime? If so that definately points to a rogue AP.

Thank you Freaktech for your response. I really appreciate your input and your time.