Hi all --

I'm so glad to have found this site. I hope I'm able to learn and (once I get some experience) help those on this board.

My question.....

I'm a stay at home mom currently and started going to school for computer (Information Technology). When I worked in insurance 5 years ago, I knew I wanted to get into this field but didn't. I now have 3 children (last one will be going to school in 2 years) and am going to school at DeVry. I will complete my degree in IT in April of next year (2005).

I learn quickly and would like to get into programming. I know it may be boring and monotonous but I like the opportunity to create something that (hopefully) works. I know it's frustrating but I enjoy mathematics and problem solving a lot!

My question is that I see positions for application developer / programmer but right now they all want experience. How do I break into this field? I'm looking for co-op work but they all seem to want to get someone who's had more experience than just a student. I love programming in Java, C#, ASP.NET, VB. I've done javascripting (in class.....all of this is in class), haven't learned any other scripting languages. I don't really feel like I "own" these languages yet but would like to become a kick a$$ object oriented programmer. I want to certify in Java and .NET when I graduate and in addition though, I need to get some experience.

I spoken to some folks at Robert Half Technology and they said I would need to start out in a help desk role. Would this take me where I want to go or will this just lead me to a dead end position?

Any suggestions you all could give would be very much appreciated!!

-- CoderWannaBe

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies