Hey all, I'm new to bulletin boards and starting a community. I'm writting some books for hairstylists and want to start a bulletin board. It will be 6 months or so before I get the books printed, so I thougt gettin a bulletin board going might be a good idea. Iv'e checked the sites you all talked about, I just don't know what I need to look for bacause I don't really know what I need.

I just want a basic board for people to post ideas and such and to peak peoples interest in my writting and such. I also need to gather information about the person for obvious reasons; but also to know more what people want to know so I can focus my writting in that direction.

Any help would be appreciated.

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

Since it doesn't seem like you need anything ultra fancy, I suggest you go with www.phpbb.com, the phpBB forum software. It's free and uses the php programming language. That means that you will have to find a web host which supports php. In general, that can run you about $10/month for an inexpensive host. Check out the Webmaster Marketplace forum here to find a host.

Holy smokes you reply quick, nice. I'll check it out. If I start with them, can I transfer all the posts to a 'fancy' site, does this one you mentioned upgrade while keeping the info? I have found in life it is usually best to go with the best from the start to save headaches, but I also don't want to spend a lot of money when none is comming in. Who knows, I may become famous :mrgreen:

Thanks again

YaBB 1 Gold - SP 1.3.1 is what a message board I belong to uses. Any input on it?

If I start with them, can I transfer all the posts to a 'fancy' site?
Someone correct me if I'm wrong, but all the big message boards have converters which are straight forward and easy to use.

Does this one upgrade while keeping the info?