I have been asked as an IT Technician to assist one of the IT Teachers at a residential school I work at to help with an Intranet site (I have had some experience with basic HTML before so thats why I was asked).

The school is a residential school for up to 16 teenagers with learning difficulties and challenging behaviour (a lot of the students have Autism).

So, where am I needing help? well, everywhere really!! The site needs to be user friendly and have minimal daily maintenance but also be able to be viewed on a large touch screen plasma in our entrance hall. The Intranet site will be showing media files/videos of the students doing all the great things we do etc etc but also once pressed will bring up a menu allowing the students to touch a symbol to gain access to three main areas of the site.

• Todays School Timetable - highlighted by time depending on time of day
  • Visitors expected at school today (including their picture)
  • List of senior management team on site today

For this to work, I feel it should all be run from a calendar script but have no idea which script would be best to use or in which language etc etc etc

(First impression was a PHP Script with a SQL server)

Anyone able to give me any pointers or able to assist me build the site?

Thanks in advance!

peter_budo commented: Interesting project, cross fingers everything goes well +7

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

Do you have any experience implementing php/asp.net scripts ? As this could prove difficult if your not too sure what you are doing. There are some 3rd party tools out there which will probably do all this for you but your gonna have to pay for these as i dont know of any free ones.

Are you able to forward some links to me of these 3rd party products - I can then forward them on to my boss

Thanks in advance

Are you able to forward some links to me of these 3rd party products - I can then forward them on to my boss

Thanks in advance