Hi all

I finished a Graduate Diploma in Computing last year - with majors in programming (VB6 and Java) and database management (Oracle 9i, SQL) and haven't been able to get IT work because of not having professional IT experience. There are lots of IT jobs around but everyone wants a minimum of 1-3yrs experience, even for a GRADUATE!!! So how does one get that experience, if one can't get a job in the first place?

Incidentally I also have a BSc and an MSc plus 20yrs' work experience in a non-IT field. Perhaps employers think I'm too old??

Thanks a lot for any feedback
cobberas

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

In my experience, it helps to know someone on the inside of a company that's hiring. Any edge like that will help you. I have helped lots of people find jobs over the years and changed careers too and find that knowing someone helps a lot.

If you don't know someone, as I didn't when I made my career change, you'll have to take a lower-level, entry type job until you can "prove" yourself. IT folk are very protective of their ground.

Your other alternative is to sign up with a firm that does temporary placement or contract jobs. Get in, show your stuff, and then get hired.

In my experience, it helps to know someone on the inside of a company that's hiring. Any edge like that will help you. I have helped lots of people find jobs over the years and changed careers too and find that knowing someone helps a lot.

If you don't know someone, as I didn't when I made my career change, you'll have to take a lower-level, entry type job until you can "prove" yourself. IT folk are very protective of their ground.

Your other alternative is to sign up with a firm that does temporary placement or contract jobs. Get in, show your stuff, and then get hired.

If all fails volunteer(if you can afford it) works all the time.

If all fails volunteer (if you can afford it) works all the time.

Thanks a lot guys - makes sense.