Hi DaniWeb Community,

I am considering a career change to Software Development Engineering and found DaniWeb in my first attempt tonight at learning more about the field and how to get started.

I have 6 years employed experience as a MS Access Developer and Administrator that I am hoping can be a base to start from into other languages, platforms, and employment (!), specifically in Sofrware Development Engineering.

Three years ago, I transitioned out of database development into a Forecasting Analyst position because 1) this role allowed me to become a direct employee with better benefits vs. an outsource employee, and 2) I was scared about programming work drying up for me because of the increasing overseas outsourcing that was (and still is) going on. It was particularly an article in Wired! magazine that really pushed me over the edge with this fear. A few years later now, I realize Development-type work was something I enjoyed much more than the Business-related role I have been in, and that the bleak job-prospects outlook I had for programming and development wasn't totally grounded in fact. So, now I am beginning to try to find out what languages I should learn first; what non-programming skills are valued/required; education requirements; what are, if any, the various job positions that fall under the heading "Software Development Engineering", etc. etc. I think DaniWeb will turn to be very helpful and a fun experience.

With that, I welcome suggestions and information from anyone who knows about the Software Development Engineering field, and I thank you in advance!

Happy Posting,

KingsWeBe

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

Glad to have you here!

Hi there,
Thanks for the detailed intro.
Welcome, by the way!