Hello everyone,

I finished my graduation degree 2 months before and I was in the process of applying for a job. It been two months now. I just had three interviews. Its so frustrating. Why would I get a job.

Can anyone give me some advice on why does it happen. People who is been already employed, how did your interview go, where did you find the vacancies from. I am currently located in UK!

I have posted my CV on most of the public websites. I get calls from agencies and they get all my details. But they never get back later. Is it because of my lack of technical skills. I do apply for job directly through employer websites. But still I don't get reply very soon!

ssharish

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Software companies don't want to hire a new guy. It's a fact. It's why they offer internships. They want a person who has proven his/her self to be knowledgeable and reliable in that field. As the new guy, you have to start at the bottom. This means very little pay (possibly a small stipend or salary) in exchange for credibility. Once credibility is attained, you can put it on the resume and the sky is the limit.

> But they never get back later.
Yeah, agencies are like that, even for pros.

Unless you're exactly what they're looking for, you're just padding for their database. The only way to get them to do stuff for you (it seems) is to keep calling them to the point they find you somewhere just to shut you up :)

> I am currently located in UK!
I think a lot of places are looking to either cut back, or put a freeze on recruitment at the moment. It's going to be pretty tough for a while it would seem.

Have your other class-mates found work yet? If so, can then offer any tips?
What about your college, do they have a careers advice centre as well for recent graduates?