I am a PHP developer and enjoying my work in it , but i was very disappointed when some of my colleagues said that the PHP is bullshit... it is not a programming language... there is no future in it... i was very amazed when other professional doesn't consider me as a software developer... so what your say?

what you think about PHP share with us...

Recommended Answers

All 18 Replies

Isn't php based on C++ or am I thinking of some other language. What ever, they probably just never messed with it. I like it I just wish I under stood it better.

ya it is based on c++, I am working for 3 years and still counting and every day i saw a new thing in it. and this forum helps me a lot to solve my problems and in my learning.

I personally think that PHP, C++, as well as Linux are all fine for as long as you know what you are doing, and you are striving to learn about it every day.

Ya that is true, it is a generalized statement apply for all your task and in PHP also :)

Well, unknowingness often preceeds ridiculization.
PHP (based on C,C++ and Java) is the strongest scripting language since Perl and is used extensively worldwide. I know of a few companies who do just that, and they flourish.

and after using a framework the security issues are flushed away.

php is a scripting languge not a programming language. I hate the way PHP works in some respects and would much rather use perl although perl is going, not because it is a bad scripting language but because "mangers, ceo's etc..." call it a legacy language now. Pretty much all my work is now based in php although i would much rather be programming an application with c/c++ rather than designing websites and apps. As for those "other professional's" they don't sound very professional to me at all.

and what about the gtk you can make a desktop application in it

and what about the gtk you can make a desktop application in it

Or Adobe Air.