Hello everyone. This is my first post,so here is a little info about myself. I have a 2 year old and another child on the way. In my earlier school years I was always goofing off and not paying attention. Finally I graduated but didnt go to college,and I have been busting my bum for peanuts every since. I wanna be able to provide better for my family so im starting back to school @ ECPI for IT (networking). I only have basic computer knowledge,and I havent been to school in a long while. I feel like im getting in over my head somewhat,so please post anything that you think will get me a step ahead of the game...thanks,

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

I am a big believer of conceptual modeling and atomization.

That is, everything can be described in a unified format. Everything. If you can define an "internal language" for yourself in your mind to define a problem, you will be able to adjust it for future uses with slightly different problems. Over time, you will have built so many variation from the original mental definition(s) or template(s) your time to solve a new and unique problem will exponentially decrease.

Atomization, is my mental method (but I often write it out!) of breaking complex problems down to sub elements. If these elements are still too complex, I further break it down, until I can either no longer break it down, or I can grasp it without a problem. I made the problem into a collection of "atoms". If I cannot break it further down and still do not understand, well that is were the studying begins!

Real life example: Atomization

Home finances. Huge.. Way to complex, amorphous topic. Hard to wrap your arms around what home finances really is.

Paying bills and allocating money for non-recurring expenses. Ok, slightly better, but still scary.