Im no expert but I have tried and tried to get a clean install on my sons laptop. I followed the instructions from Dell's leaflet and put the Mediadirect cd and it wiped my harddrive then it asked me to put my OS disk in which I did. It loaded the files and asked me to choose UK and I then pressed install. It copied the windows files, then expanded files, installed features and installed updates last was completing installation which it never seemed to do, it stuck 3/4 of the way through and nearly an hour later the screen went black. I restarted the procedure again and again but still nothing. I did go into the BIOS and ask it to boot from CD/DVD as it was a matter of hitting the f12 to do it otherwise. What do I do, I have a laptop that has nothing on it and is useless and less than a year old. I thought that it would be straight forward and that I would get a clean install and be able to start again. How can I get round this, it is so frustrating please please help.

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Hii there Sir
I assume this is the Operating disk that came with the laptop. When you try to BOOT again from the Disk, hitting a key when asked if you want to BOOT from disk, does it then boot from the disk,meaning does it go into a blue screen. For some reason something caused the the files not to finish it's installation

May I also ask what was the reaso/s for you doing a fresh Operating System installation

Cheers for now

Hii there Sir
I assume this is the Operating disk that came with the laptop. When you try to BOOT again from the Disk, hitting a key when asked if you want to BOOT from disk, does it then boot from the disk,meaning does it go into a blue screen. For some reason something caused the the files not to finish it's installation

May I also ask what was the reaso/s for you doing a fresh Operating System installation

Cheers for now