Hi all,

I was just surfing by when I came across this website. I'm glad that I was able to join. I am looking for some career advice from all you I.T. professionals and I will really appreciate it if you could kindly take a minute or two to provide some advice.

I graduated in 1993 after obtaining a 2 year diploma in Mainframe Computer Programming. After leaving college, I never went back to it and worked for most part of my career life in Public Relations kind of jobs. I have now decided to work as an I.T. freelancer and want to know:

What kind of I.T. skills I can learn in the shortest period of time, that are highest in demand and the demand for such skills exceeds the available I.T. professionals?

So, just to rephrase, this is what I want:

- Learn an I.T. skill in the shortest period of time
- The I.T. skill must be in high demand and increasing
- There are not enough professionals available with that skill and therefore the demand for such professionals is more than the number of professionals available.
- I can work as a freelancer i.e. the job can be done virtually

I am quite serious about learning a new skill and any advice from you will be highly appreciated by me.

Best Wishes,

Al

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

> - Learn an I.T. skill in the shortest period of time
Does moving the mouse count?
Seriously, anything which pays well takes a LONG time to learn. You can't just chew on the end of a cat-5 cable, hope to absorb lots of information "matrix-style" and then 10 seconds later claim that you know "kung-fu".

> - The I.T. skill must be in high demand and increasing
Haven't you been following the news for the past year?
Pretty much everywhere is low demand and in danger of decreasing.
Though there doesn't seem to be a shortage of spammers unfortunately.