As stated in my intro thread, I am currently in an online Master's program for Computer Information Systems. I plan on doing the database concentration, but I'm not really sure how "technical" I want to be. I have had no IT experience in any capacity whatsoever. None. I can read and understand MySQL, but can’t really write much successfully beside INSERT statements, table scripts, and a few simple join queries.

All of my work experience is clerical/administrative. I really like the idea of creating or optimizing operational processes for businesses. That’s really what ignites my passion and dedication. Although computer information systems play a fundamental role in accomplishing that goal, I’m starting to think that they are not the end-all be-all for every business. With that in mind, in looking at job descriptions, it sounds like a systems analyst or data analyst position might be a good fit for me….but I don’t know what all is out there or how to find it really. Google searches and trolling job websites can only get me so much info if I don’t really know what to look for.

So based on what I’ve told you, and your professional experiences, where would you all suggest I go from here? Should I invest the time and money to learn some programming languages and start in programming? Or should I try to move into something more business-oriented? I’m just not sure and don’t feel I really have the experience to choose the right career path to pursue. Any constructive suggestion/piece of advice is very much appreciated. Thanks!

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Id suggest investing time in learning programming..even if you do end up in a field that doesn't require much programming, it's always helpful to know. Not to mention, the practice helps with problem solving skills and critical thinking :)